Franklin’s famous Ivey Cake earns its stripes from a star

November 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

Just around the corner from Main Street in downtown Franklin, Tenn. (also located in Brentwood), is a little bakery called Ivey Cake. The closet-sized shop barely matches its success.

It was started by a woman named Ivey Childers in 1999 who dreamed up a way to make a cupcake to mimic an amazing piece of cake. It is now featured in several magazines like People: Country Special and Brides. One of country music’s biggest weddings was that of Carrie Underwood in 2010. Her cake of choice? A cupcake tower with a variety of flavors created by Ivey Cake.

One of my favorite things to do is wander around Franklin with no agenda and an empty stomach. Recently I went in the unconventional (but typical for me) order of eating dessert before lunch. As my friends and I were walking to Puckett’s for lunch, I couldn’t resist seeing what Ivey Cake had to offer since I had never been.

The tiny room was painted a bright pink and had nothing but glowing glass filled with whimsical, lovely cupcakes. One cupcake looked like a real caramel apple, complete with a stick coming out of the top. Another was white with beautiful (and edible!) glitter coating the frosting.

The competition for me was between a dark chocolate cake with coffee frosting, dipped in chocolate and a chocolate cake with mint frosting, dipped in chocolate, sprinkled with Andes mint pieces and an Andes mint on top. No offense to the Bad Kisser (coffee frosted), but I think by the description of the latter you can guess that’s the one I chose. I made an excellent choice, if I do say so myself.

Ivey Cake cupcakes are perfect for birthday parties or gifts, holiday gatherings, a unique wedding cake (who doesn’t want to copy Carrie’s wedding?!), or simply a pre-lunch snack.

What would your dream cupcake be? Maybe Ivey Cake can make it a reality!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Franklin’s famous Ivey Cake earns its stripes from a star

  • LeAnna says:

    I’ve been here and it is so good! I am a sucker for sweets and my favorite cupcake would probably be red velvet or something to do with brownies! My mom actually went in there when we first moved to franklin to talk to this girl and she was telling her that carrie underwood is her best friend and how she did her wedding cake. So awesome!

  • jennyborck says:

    If Carrie Underwood had this at her wedding and it’s close by i don’t see why I haven’t gone yet. Next time I go downtown I’ll have to stop by!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Franklin’s famous Ivey Cake earns its stripes from a star at confectionery kate.

meta

