Portillo’s chocolate cake recipe is revealed!

October 27, 2011 § 3 Comments

One of Chicago’s most prized and popular restaurant chains is Portillo’s. It is famous for its hotdogs and beef, which are both phenomenal. What people go crazy for, though, is Portillo’s unbelievably rich and moist chocolate cake. No one could understand what made this cake so different from the rest. Finally, the recipe was made public. The secret ingredient? Mayonnaise.

Normally I have terrible luck recreating desserts like the original, but this cake was made from scratch for my graduation party, and it was just as delicious as the restaurant’s. This is my all-time favorite chocolate cake, and for those of you who are not from Chicago, you must make it on your own. Oh, and don’t let the mayonnaise part freak you out. Trust me. It’s worth it. 

Ingredients:

1 box Betty Crocker super moist chocolate butter recipe (has to be this one!)

3 eggs

1 cup ice cold water

1 cup Hellman’s regular mayonnaise

2 cans Betty Crocker creamy chocolate frosting

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Grease two 9″ cake pans
3. Mix all ingredients and beat for four minutes or until smooth
4. Pour even amount in both pans
5. Bake for 30-32 minutes
6. Cool on rack for at least one hour
7. Frost and enjoy! (feeds 6-8)

 Do you have a favorite cake recipe?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Portillo’s chocolate cake recipe is revealed!

  • Brianne Welch says:

    Okay this sounds delicious and I would love to have some right about now! The mayonnaise part did almost turn me off, but I believe that it would be worth it! I do have a favorite cake recipe, but honestly I have no idea what it is. My grandma makes it. It is pretty simple, but it is delicious! It’s really just yellow cake with a kind of chocolate icing, but it’s not the kind of icing you buy in the store, and some of it is drizzled within the cake. It is my all time favorite!

  • Erika Thornsberry says:

    The picture of the cake looks so delicious. All the talk of cake really makes me miss my moms home made cakes. I really don’t have a favorite, when it comes to cakes I will eat everything.

  • That’s crazy that there’s mayonnaise and ice cold water but I guess the secret ingredient is what usually maes the recipe so good.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Portillo’s chocolate cake recipe is revealed! at confectionery kate.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

